gallery Dear Black Man (For Those Seeking Confirmation Through Status Validation)

Dear Black Man,

 

If white women are your affliction-

Don’t look to me

To cure your addiction

With hot passionate nights

By the moonlight

 

For you won’t love me right

& I’ll be up all night

With my gut feeling tight

Looking on social media

Trying to understand

Why your love feels like a namebrand

 

You’ll call me insecure though

While she’s stroking your ego

 

Looking to me

For help with business plans

Cause she won’t understand

Your struggle as a black man

 

Still,

Keeping your white whore on the side

For status, validation and confirmation

For when you finally fly

 

Power strokes & wild rides

 

Meanwhile,

You’re breaking my melanted pride

& inside a piece of me dies

 

So just keep it real

For I don’t need your steel….

Double-edged blade

 

Praying with me

While you’re playing with her…

 

Us black women

Have incurred enough hurt

From the moment we were birthed

 

So please understand

And don’t try to manipulate me

While my heart is in your hands

 

There are 31 flavors

And I require no special one

 

I ask only this…

Stop being so vain

And if white women are your affliction

To cure your lack of validation & your need for confirmation…

Then satisfy your thirst.

 

Just don’t look to me-

For one of us,
May leave in a hearst.

 

-Phoenix Divine (3-14-17)

 

Leave a Reply

