image There Are Just Some Things That You Can’t Unsee

There are just some things that you can’t unsee…
A woman dying-
Lifeless eyes staring back at me.
They are-
Trying to resuscitate.
But she won’t breathe,
And her heart has beat it’s last beat.

See, there are just some things that you can’t unsee…

1…2…3…
The CPR compressions begin again.
But it is,
All in vain.
There is-
No life to her body.
Stomach expanding,
And beginning to bloat.
Each breath of life rejected for that which comes in the after.

I should have looked away.
“Back to your cells!” the officers say.
But it was too late.
Death took her on that date.

I saw that which I should not have seen…

I heard that which cannot be unheard…

“Stop the compressions,”
After twenty minutes in.
This meaning only one thing…
A useless effort,
For this mother of twins.
Then, the time of death…
Darkness wins,
At the call.
No longer can the paramedics stall,
Her date with fate.

One moment, I’m reading…
Hearing her laughter on the stairs.
The next, I’m watching the Grim Reaper
Make good on a bet,
That was preset.
I wonder if she died with regret,
With Death’s pressure on her chest.
Spirit leaving her in the very last breath.

See,
There are just some things that you can’t unsee…

And will haunt your memory indefinitely…

I would have rather caught my lover,
With milky legs spread in the air.
Infidelity seems insignificant,
When death is in the air…

-Phoenix Divine

Leave a Reply

